Developing Church of England Education

Board Structure

Chair: The Bishop of Croydon - The Rt Revd Jonathan Clark

Schools Committee

Chair: The Venerable Jane Steen, Archdeacon of Southwark

The Schools Committee deals with all school policy matters, monitors inspection reports for all its schools, receives an annual report on the work of the twelve Standing Advisory Councils for Religious Education (SACRE) in the Diocese, monitors the appointment of senior staff in schools and appoints Diocesan foundation governors where vacancies arise for Diocesan nominees on governing bodies.

Further and Higher Education Committee

Chair: Revd Andrew Williams

This Committee supports and develops the work of chaplaincy in both these sectors in education. It receives annual reports from the education chaplains in the Diocese.

Finance and Development Committee

Chair: Mr Malcolm Edwards

This Committee deals with all financial matters relating to the Board's work, receives reports on the Board's investments and sets the annual maintenance charge for the Board's External Maintenance Scheme for schools.

Audit Committee

Chair: Mrs Sarah Ironmonger

The Audit Committee recommends the appointment of the Board’s auditors, meets regularly with the audit team and oversees the annual audit process on behalf of the Board.

It reviews and responds to the audit reports and supports the management team in developing the audit timetable and scheme of work.